BOUNCING ALONG.

01/23/2014 22:34
 

 

DEERDRAH JDT ORIGINAL

Chapter 1 

 

I was beating Adriel at an epic game of modern warfare. After, the accident leaving my entire family in a coma months ago, I couldn’t take it to do much of anything else. "I am so beating your ass Ade!" I said reaching for some leftover pizza. "Oh, now I'm beating you one handed!" 

"Wait I thought we said no camping Elsa!" he said totally focused. I took a bite of the slice I held in my hand. "If you don’t leave the tower after I kill this one, I am going to quit." I laughed and hopped off the tower and into a pickup. "You know what!" he threw the remote laughing.  

I left the game. And began cleaning up the pizza leftover party mess we made. After that, sitting on the couch reading a book, I started thinking about school, and it made my stomach turn. I have been staying in my best friend Marci's house, who roomed with Adriel, for some months. I would have to continue my life and move back home soon, go back to school,and get a job, but now I just wanted to do whatever I want.  

"Elsa? Elsa, your hand is shaking are you okay?" Adriel wrapped his arms around me. He stroked my hair. "You're okay Elsa. You're okay." I started to sob uncontrollably. He shushed me soothingly. Marci came walked in the door right on time.  

"Oh, Elsa!" she said throwing her books on the kitchen table and, rushing to my side. 

Adriel did not let go of me instead he held me tighter. "Elsa, it's okay." I did this until I fell asleep in Adriel's arms.  

 

~ When I woke up I felt like the biggest fool. Adriel laid me in his bed which meant he was sleeping on the leather couch in the hot living room. I yawned and stretched my legs toes and arms. I heard carter and Marci talking, I didn't want to eavesdrop so instead I took a shower. when I was done I didn’t think to cover up with a towel so I walked into Adriel's room dripping wet and naked, and with my luck he was standing right there. 

"Oh, My, God!" he said. I covered myself with my hands. 

"Can you...uh...the..." I turned red and pointed at the towel on his bed. He passed me the towel but I didn’t put my hand out because then I would be exposed. He smiled sheepishly and wrapped the towel around me. "Sorry about that... I shouldn’t have..." 

"Don’t worry about that Elsa." he said his arms still around me. I wanted to stay that way I had a thing for Adriel for the longest time. We went to high school together and we never gave things a try because I was so shy. I breathed him in and rubbed his back absentmindedly. 

He let me go and went off into the living room closing the door behind him. I plopped on the bed and stared at the greenish ceiling. I have to continue my life, it is what my family would want. I could feel myself shaking so, I got up and put on my clothes.  

The living room was moved around like it is every week. Because Marci is kind of a clean freak. I went to the kitchen and poured a bowl of cereal, Adriel was in school and so was Marci. finally the house to myself. I decided to read up on some Greek gods. Everyone knows about the big ones, Zeus, Poseidon, Hades, Athena and so on. My favorite being Poseidon the god of the seas and the creator of horses.  

I balled up on the couch and turned on the TV. I don’t watch it I just like the background noise while I read. Eating my cereal I flipped through the channels, and settle for the bad girls club. 

 I was now reading about the various nymphs that live in the underworld with Hades, and about how Persephone betrayed Hades over and over. And I wondered how a God could allow something like this to happen to him knowingly. I mean Hades is far from stupid, but it seems that he, chooses not to know about Zeus and his mate, or maybe he does I'm not that far yet. 

There was a noise just outside the door. Mrs. Leonard must have let the dog loose again. Then the doorknob began moving. It was Adriel. 

"Elsa! Classes got cancelled so I thought we could eat a healthy Taco Bell breakfast, OOoh and maybe watch that some Walking Dead on Netflix." I Smiled, and put my book down.  

"I like literally just ate a bowl of cereal, but I could take a loaded potato griller." I said rushing to the table. He laughed and took his coat off. My phone rang in the living room so I shuffled across the floor and took it in my un-busy hand.  

It was from the hospital where my family was staying at the expense of my college fund. I smiled lightly at Adriel and then went into his bathroom to answer. "Yes, hello?" 

"Hello, is this Elsa Javez?" the voice on the other end answered, it was a woman and my family's primary doctor was a man 

"Yes. This is she, is...uh...is my family awake?" 

"No. Sorry, but this is urgent news and I am going to need you to come in immediately." She said hushed. I sighed and told her it will take me a day to get there because I was staying so far from my hometown. She had an attitude then hung up abruptly.  

I sat on the toilet seat staring at the phone, what could this be about? I mean I knew I couldn’t just live with Marci and Adriel forever. Adriel knocked on the door, "Elsa are...uh are you okay?"  I got up and opened the door.  

"That was the hospital, they need me to come in." 

"Well, how you going to get there?" 

 



Contact

mYvOiCE,MywORdS,mYWoRLd deerdrah_tate@aol.com
To Top